MOVEMENT VI(b) (2015)

Solo double bass

Duration: 2 minutes

Premiere: 17 July 2015. Avaloch, NH

Program Notes:

Movement VI(b) is a solo double bass movement from a larger work, Stolen, a 45-minute piece for solo electric guitar and chamber ensemble composed in 2015. Throughout the work the ensemble movements are interspersed with solo movements featuring each of the instruments in the ensemble (clarinet, electric guitar, vibraphone, piano, violin and double bass). These solo movements are designed to be performed both as stand alone pieces, as well as existing as a  movement within the context of the larger work. Stolen takes inspiration from the poem A Scheme for Brightness by Australian author Richard James Allen.